Utah No-Fault Law
Utah is a “No-Fault” state. This means that, no matter whose fault an accident may have been, injured parties seek payment for the first $3,000 of medical expenses from their own insurance carrier. This is dictated by a statute sometimes referred to as the “PIP Statute” which stands for “Personal Injury Protection”.
If one exceeds $3,000 of reasonable, necessary and related medical expense, sustains a bone fracture, permanent impairment or permanent scarring, the law allows the pursuit of “General Damages” for pain, suffering, inconvenience and the like.
Frequent Questions Related to this practice area